Cost of the 8-Week Program

The entire registration fee is due to John Wood Community College prior to the start of the prep session. During the prep session the student must pass a D.O.T. physical and drug screen, complete an employment application, and obtain their CDL driving permit. If a student is unable to complete any of these items prior to the start of class the following week, they can delay their start of training until the next available scheduled class. This program is eligible for funding through Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) or other public agencies. Both Dot Transportation, Inc. and Sharkey Transportation, Inc. are offering scholarship opportunities for qualified candidates.

NOTE: Illinois CDL regulations now require individuals to show a birth certificate or passport in order to take the CDL permit test.

8-Week Program Costs

Training Fee

$4,160.00

Textbooks (approximate cost)

$80.00

Total Cost
(costs subject to change without notice)

$4,240.00

 

Online Class Option:
The eight-week Truck Driver Training online course is the only one of its kind in the region and covers the classroom component required for the program. The online class decreases the amount of time students need to be on campus to complete training. Hands-on driving instruction required in addition to the online class can be arranged to allow students to continue to work while training. There is an additional online delivery fee required.

8-Week Online Program Costs

Training Fee

$4,160.00

Online Delivery Fee

$150.00

Textbooks (approximate cost)

$80.00

Total Cost
(costs subject to change without notice)

$4,390.00

 

Other costs not paid to John Wood:
Illinois CDL License Fee:  $50.00
Missouri CDL License Fee: $102.50

Some companies, upon employment, require a Hazardous Materials Endorsement and/or a TWIC Card. The cost for the Hazardous Materials Endorsement is $86.50; the TWIC card cost is $132.00 ($25 discount if you have Hazardous Materials Endorsement first).

Refund Policy:
A student who notifies the TDT program prior to the start of class may receive a full refund. If a student is not present during the first day of the prep session, the student will be dropped from the class and receive a full refund. Once a student starts the prep session, a $563.00 prep fee will be kept for prep week costs if the student does not then continue into the seven week training class. If the student has not completed requirements to continue in the class, they can also postpone their start of class to a subsequent training session. Once the training class begins, the student has until the end of the second day of class to drop with a partial refund. At the end of the second day of class, no refunds will be given.

16-Week Program Available:
Logistics/Truck Driver Training Certificate

The 16-week program is 16-credit hours and is eligible for student financial aid. Call 217.641.4971 for more information.