Seventy-Six Inducted into JWCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

PTK InducteesSeventy-six students were inducted into John Wood Community College’s Alpha Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society during a formal ceremony Monday, February 25.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes and encourages scholarship among students at two-year colleges.  Inductees must have completed 12 semester hours of associate degree work, have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale and be currently enrolled at JWCC.

Chapter President Madeline Davis provided the welcome to the program, JWCC Vice President of Instruction Dr. Laurel Klinkenberg presented the keynote, and Jennifer Grindstaff, PTK advisor, installed the new officers.  Also participating in the program were Jennifer Watkins (vice-president) and Dana Caley (treasurer).

JWCC students inducted during the ceremony were as follows:

Augusta: Madison Fox

Barry: Shaylon Armistead, Lonita Ash, Emma Raftery          

Bluffs: Jaelyne Likes

Camp Point: Alaina Vance

Canton, Mo.: Dana Simmons   

Clayton: Elizabeth Jarvis

Dresden, Tenn.: Freddie Winstead

Fowler: Cole Duesterhaus, Justin Rossmiller              

Golden: Sharadyn Janssen

Hamilton: Amy Sullivan        

Hannibal, Mo.: Alicia Burditt, Michael Dyke 

La Grange, Mo.: Brandy Anderson, Brittany Weathers

Mendon: Paul Freeman, Aaron Wittler, Grace Zanger              

Mt. Sterling: Pyper Wettstein

New London, Mo.: Holly Booth

Payson: Leroy Brinkman  

Pittsfield: Sierra DeJaynes, Brittany Greenwood, Reagan Hoskin, Caitlyn McIntire, Amber Miller, Jorie Reed, Kelly Rhodes, Morgan White

Plainville: Jesica Huber, Hannah Klingele

Quincy: Makayla Briggs, Adrianna Broughton, Dana Caley, Ashton Chandler, Tyler Chandler, Justin Crow, Shayla Darnell, Raevianna Davis, Amanda Dreyer, Ryan Drish,  Kennedy Edwards, Madeline Estepp, Matthew Farlow, Mary Farmer, John Fodor, Elizabeth Fodor, Emily Hedberg, Abigail Hedberg, Courtney Jensen, Heather Johnson, Sydney Johnston, Theresa Kasparie, Payton Kearns, Demontae Kewney, Grant Kroeger, Madison McCabe, Keiley Meyer, Christine Poage, Madison Rampley, Macyn Seaver, Lauryn Sheurman, Nathan Smith, Hanna Spiekermeier, Jillian Thomas, Joni Veile, Jennifer Watkins, Kaylee Young

Springfield, Ill.: Judith Percy

Sutter: Ryan Spory

Versailles: Patricia Forster

John Wood Community College is the educational link between business and community. JWCC collaboratively creates innovative and relevant academic and training programs with business leaders to educate young people and the workforce for today’s needs and tomorrow’s opportunities. JWCC has centers in Quincy, Pittsfield, Baylis and Mt. Sterling, Illinois. Programs include a comprehensive baccalaureate transfer curriculum, customized business training, career/technical degrees and certificates and personal enrichment courses.

Learn more at: