State of Illinois Monetary Award Program (MAP)
The MAP is awarded by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) and is designed to pay tuition and basic fees at JWCC for Illinois students (MAP Eligibility). Students should also be aware of their Rights and Responsibilities concerning MAP.
Students eligible for MAP as a result of lifting the 75 hour limit (effective January 1, 2020, as the result of the RISE Act), and whose financial aid awards are repackaged, will be informed of any change in their eligibility status by the college, including the estimated award amount.
On June 21, 2019, the Retention of Illinois Students & Equity (RISE) Act was signed into law, with an effective date of January 1, 2020. The Act provides that “a student who is an Illinois resident and who is not otherwise eligible for federal financial aid, including, but not limited to, a transgender student who is disqualified for failure to register for selective service or a noncitizen student who has not obtained lawful permanent resident, shall be eligible for state financial aid and benefits”.
To accommodate RISE Act eligible students, ISAC is creating an Illinois specific online application for MAP. Check the following link for any updates concerning the RISE Act and the application process. RISE ACT
Federal Pell Grant
This grant is designed to help pay college-related expenses. The exact dollar award is determined by the student’s class load and the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) as calculated by the federal government. Please review your Rights and Responsibilities.
Federal Work-Study (FWS)
As a campus-based program, FWS is awarded through the Office of Financial Aid. Job Application process is coordinated through the Office of Human Resources. Students who participate generally work 8 hours per week and are paid every two weeks. The actual FWS award is based on demonstrated financial need.
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
As a campus-based program, the SEOG is awarded to students who have exceptional financial need. SEOG awards depend on the amount of funds available.
Federal Stafford Direct Loan Program
This loan program allows students to borrow money for educational expenses. The interest rate is variable and may change on July 1 of each year. Repayment of principal need not begin until six months after the student either graduates or ceases to be enrolled at least half-time (minimum of six credits per term).
To apply for either the subsidized or unsubsidized Federal Stafford Loan, a student must first complete the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid). Students will then need to complete a Student Loan Request Application, Undergraduate Entrance Counseling (studentaid.gov) and the Subsidized/Unsubsidized Master Promissory Note (studentaid.gov).
The combined amount that dependent students may borrow from both the subsidized and unsubsidized loan programs is $5,500/year ($2,750/semester) for freshmen (0-27 earned hours) and $6,500/year ($3,250/semester) for sophomores (28+ earned hours). These amounts may vary based on the amounts of other financial aid and the amount of credit hours the student is taking.
The combined amount that independent students may borrow from both the subsidized and unsubsidized loan programs is $9,500/year ($4,750/semester) for freshmen (0-27 earned hours) and $10,500/year ($5,250/semester) for sophomores (28+ earned hours). These amounts may vary based on the amounts of other financial aid and the amount of credit hours the student is taking.
The maximum for subsidized loans cannot exceed $3,500/year ($1,750/semester) for freshmen and $4,500/year ($2,250/semester) for sophomores.
Students may not exceed the federal aggregate (maximum) loan limits.
Since all loans must be repaid, students are urged to approach borrowing with extreme caution. The Federal Stafford Loan program provides an excellent means of obtaining needed funds for educational expenses, but these funds become a debt which must be included in the borrower’s future financial planning.
Federal Stafford PLUS Direct Loan Program (PLUS)
PLUS loans are available to parents of dependent students who are enrolled at least half-time. Repayment begins within 60 days of signing a promissory note unless the parent opts to have repayment deferred while the student for whom the parent borrowed is enrolled at least half-time and for an additional six months after that student is no longer enrolled at least half-time. Completion of the FAFSA is required before a PLUS loan can be processed. Parents will need to complete the Parent PLUS Loan Request Application and the Parent PLUS Master Promissory Note (studentaid.gov). If the parent’s credit check is approved, the PLUS loan amount may go up to the student’s cost of attendance minus all other financial aid. If the credit check is denied, the student will then have the option to receive an additional unsubsidized loan (up to $2000/semester or $4000/year).